Pumpkins in the Burbs

pumpkin

Today was a very productive Saturday after a very rough week. It felt good to take my mind off things by spending some quality times with a good friend and losing myself in some good old Halloween activities.

After being woken up by this bedhog, I got a text to get up and moving.

Gabby Baby

Gabby Baby

After filling up on breakfast and too much coffee, one of my oldest friends, M, and I decided to make the most of the day off and carve pumpkins and watch scary movies.

Good ol' IHOP with M.

Good ol’ IHOP with M.

I got a balloon bracelet from the IHOP Clown.

I got a balloon bracelet from the IHOP Clown.

We headed over to my parents’ house, spread out some garbage bags, and got to work on gutting our gourds.

IMG_0939M may have helped me with some of the strenuous knife skills….

Muscles.

Muscles.

So once we got the pumpkins gutted and cleaned, we cheated a little bit and cut out some patterns to make our jack-o-lanterns look badass.

Whooo Whooo

Whooo Whooo

I went with a creepy owl. M went with something a little more detailed which you will see shortly…

*Chewy Noise*

*Chewy Noise*

CHEWY! I commended M on his detail and dedication to Star Wars. Mine turned out pretty awesome as well!

IMG_0952

With our pumpkins finished and glowing with electronic candles (it’s the future), I set to work on the OTHER best part of the pumpkins; THE SEEDS! I decided to do a sweet and spicy blend; this is what you’ll need.

IMG_0947

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Two egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 3 tbsp Pumpkin Pie Spice

And of course…

IMG_0948Cleaned Pumpkin Seeds!

So you wanna whisk together all the ingredients mentioned above in a medium sized mixing bowl, and add the cleaned seeds, like so.

IMG_0950Strain out the extra egg whites and add the seeds to a greased cookie sheet. I like to salt the seeds with a little sea salt as well.

IMG_0957

Bake for 15 minutes or until seeds are golden brown. Then add a little more salt and enjoy! Warning: They’re addictive.

IMG_0955

I hope everyone is having as great a Saturday as I am. It feels really good to be home and productive. Nothing beats spending good time with friends, family, and pets after having a hard week. Coming home to such a warm environment makes me feel so grateful for all I have in my life and all I have to be happy about. Who knows, maybe I might make being domestic a repeat occurrence.

Stay Golden,

...maybe not

…maybe not

Leave a Reply

