Season Change Cleaning Day

Winter Organization Spree; a mild burst of manic OCD

So. I live in a house on the near West side of Chicago. I have a gaggle of roommates (bathroom fights are a regular occurence) and to say my room is tiny would be an understatement. In order to make room for my (copious amounts) of chunky sweaters and winter boots, I had to do a little minimizing. I worked at home today as I had traffic court this morning (boooo) so I stocked up on organizational materials and my winter wardrobe to replace the summer’s.

Working for a website means 8+ hours of eye-blurring screen time; hence the nerdy glasses.

Working for a website means 8+ hours of eye-blurring screen time; hence the nerdy glasses.

work work work. code code code.

work work work. code code code.

 Armed with a rubbermade bin (thanks mom), a hat box, a scarf rack and roommates hungry for the clothes I was preparing to donate, I went home to take on the daunting task of making my little room livable. I swapped out all my summer shoes/clothes/stuff I haven’t worn in forever, and replaced them with my cozy winter garments. I hung an awesome shoe/sweater shelf in my closet which has reduced the level of clusterf-ck in the small space.

STUFFED

STUFFED

Being a Chicago Native, you tend to develop quite the winter wear collection. So in order to tackle the excessive amount of knits I found this nifty scarf hanger (hung on one of those Scotch removable hooks which, by the way, are amazing) and a cute hat box I’ve owned for as long as I can remember.

so.many.hats.

so.many.hats.

so. many. scarves.

so. many. scarves.

So after crowding my room with the second half of my wardrobe, I took a cue from Pinterest and maximized the space in my shallow dresser drawers. Needless to say, I may have a touch of OCD. I mean, look at those socks.

The most organized delicates I ever did see. I may have a problem.

The most organized delicates I ever did see.
I may have a problem.

Dresser Space: Maximized

Dresser Space: Maximized

I also was rummaging around my old closet at my parents’ house and found this sweet bed caddy; perfect for keeping bedside essentials like books, your journal, pens, and chapstick. Obsessed.

Now I never have to get out of bed!

Now I never have to get out of bed!

Feeling sufficiently productive, I decided to take advantage of this organizing inspiration to give the top of my dresser a little makeover. I love my little knick knacks and I’ve had most of them for as long as I can remember. I’m obsessed with this jewelry tree (garage sale find), my Owl Russian Nesting Dolls (a gift from my late grandfather) and this graphic framed Levi’s piece from  my lovely boyfriend 🙂

sentimental knick knacks

sentimental knick knacks

I feel super relaxed after a good organizing session. I realize that might make me weird, but I don’t really care cause it just feels so damn good after seeing everything exactly where it should be. Sigh. Order makes me happy.

Stay Gold (and organized)

Stay Warm!

Stay Warm!

Leave a Reply

